skip to content
 

EXPLORING THE RENAISSANCE MIND THROUGH THE LIBRARY OF SIR THOMAS SMITH

Monday 16 October: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Tuesday 17 October: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Wednesday 18 October: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Thursday 19 October: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Friday 20 October: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Monday 23 October: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Tuesday 24 October: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Wednesday 25 October: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Thursday 26 October: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Friday 27 October: 1:30pm - 4:30pm

Old Library, Queens' College, Silver Street, CB3 9ET

An exhibition centring on the famous annotated books from the book collection of Sir Thomas Smith (1513-77), an abrasive figure who rose from low beginnings to the highest echelons of Elizabethan society. As well as telling the story of Elizabethan England through reference to Smith’s tumultuous career as a politician, Renaissance scholar, and Queens’ fellow, Smith’s annotated books together with those of other Queens’ contemporaries offer fascinating insights into varied dimensions of life in Cambridge, and into the minds of its Renaissance readers.

Bookings currently unavailable

Bookings will open at 11am on Monday 25 September

Booking Information

No need to book.

Accessibility

Partial access - please call for details
Phone: 01223 766766

Additional Information

Age: 8+, Exhibition, Drop in, Free